PSA: Don't Start A New Game Of Zelda Without Switching Accounts

Original Source

Did you know that trying to start a new game of Zelda: Breath of the Wild will erase all of your current save files? Please do not let this happen to you. Start a new Switch account before you start a brand new game.

Advertisement

This weekend, I decided to get my fiancée into Breath of the Wild. She doesn’t play a lot of video games, and given that the newest Zelda is one of the greatest games ever made, it felt like a good one to get her into. So I exited to the main menu and selected “New Game.” Then I got a prompt: “Overwrite previous save data?”

I thought about it for a second. Surely it must be talking about auto-saves? There’s no way Zelda would wipe your entire database of save files just so you can start a new game, is there? I was about to press “yes” when I thought I’d check Google just to be safe, and sure enough, the internet answered me: Starting a new game of Zelda: Breath of the Wild will delete all of your saves.

Advertisement

READ FULL STORY AT KOTAKU!